How Much Is Too Much?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
New Here

Category :
  • Non-RLSH

PostSubject: How Much Is Too Much?   Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:39 pm

I'm just starting out with my Martial Arts training and I've been feeling some sore muscles in my core. I know this is normal but how do you tell if you are pushing yourself too far too fast? I don't want to hurt myself but I also don't want to hold myself back either. What signs should I be looking for? And also, how long should I let sore muscles rest between workouts so I don't end up hurting myself and wasting time that I could be using to train along steadily?
Back to top Go down

PostSubject: Re: How Much Is Too Much?   Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:43 pm

No matter how I typed this, its gonna read wrong.

Take cold showers. Your muscles are sore and swelling up. Cold water shrinks muscles and reduces swelling.

Other than that, if you are ripping the muscles to work out, give it a day to repair itself and go lighter to rebuild.
Back to top Go down
Gauge

Category :
  • Crime Fighter
  • Non-RLSH

PostSubject: Re: How Much Is Too Much?   Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:20 pm

Work different areas every day, and give at least a one-day break between workouts of the same area. Except the abs. You almost cannot overdo the abs. Be sure to stretch before and after your workouts to avoid injury and extreme pain. Talk with Flora v. Arbor about workouts, she is usually happy to advise, and is very knowledgeable.
Back to top Go down
Trixus

Category :
  • Crime Fighter
  • Public Service

PostSubject: Re: How Much Is Too Much?   Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:28 pm

Calves are pretty hard to overdo as well

For strength and testosterone release work the legs, squats and deadlifts, throw in some box jumps

Work opposing muscle groups until you can handle a tighter regimen. Let your muscles rest at first its very important.